How many moons does Jupiter have?

2 Answer(s)

    There are 69 known moons of Jupiter. This gives Jupiter the largest number of moons with reasonably stable orbits of any planet in the Solar System. The most massive of the moons are the four Galilean moons, which were independently discovered in 1610 by Galileo Galilei and Simon Marius and were the first objects found to orbit a body that was neither Earth nor the Sun. From the end of the 19th century, dozens of much smaller Jovian moons have been discovered and have received the names of lovers or daughters of the Roman god Jupiter or his Greek equivalent Zeus.

    69 moons name of Jupiter.

    1. Metis
    2. Adrastea
    3. Amalthea
    4. Thebe
    5. Io
    6. Europa
    7. Ganymede
    8. Callisto
    9. Themisto
    10. Leda
    11. Himalia
    12. Lysithea
    13. Elara
    14. Dia
    15. Carpo
    16. S/2003 J 12
    17. Euporie
    18. S/2003 J 3
    19. S/2011 J 1
    20. S/2003 J 18
    21. S/2010 J 2
    22. Thelxinoe
    23. Euanthe
    24. Helike
    25. Orthosie
    26. S/2016 J 1
    27. Iocaste
    28. S/2003 J 16
    29. Praxidike
    30. Harpalyke
    31. Mneme
    32. Hermippe
    33. Thyone
    34. Ananke
    35. Herse
    36. Aitne
    37. Kale
    38. Taygete
    39. S/2003 J 19
    40. Chaldene
    41. S/2003 J 15
    42. S/2003 J 10
    43. S/2003 J 23
    44. Erinome
    45. Aoede
    46. Kallichore
    47. Kalyke
    48. Carme
    49. Callirrhoe
    50. Eurydome
    51. Pasithee
    52. S/2010 J 1
    53. Kore
    54. Cyllene
    55. S/2011 J 2
    56. Eukelade
    57. S/2017 J 1
    58. S/2003 J 4
    59. Pasiphae
    60. Hegemone
    61. Arche
    62. Isonoe
    63. S/2003 J 9
    64. S/2003 J 5
    65. Sinope
    66. Sponde
    67. Autonoe
    68. Megaclite
    69. S/2003 J 2

    Thanks for your questions. If you have more questions, ask me.

    Brong Answered on June 19, 2018.
    Add Comment

      Lately, this question has had a changing answer! For many years, we knew of 16 moons for the largest planet in our solar system. In the last few years, about two dozen new moons have been announced by astronomers. However, being announced does not mean that these become “official” moons of the planet. To be recognized by the scientific community as a new moon involves a process which may take several years – and some announced objects never get recognized at all! Let’s explain.

      When a scientist makes observations which indicate a new moon, they submit their data and analysis to the scientific community. Other scientists then try to confirm the existance of the new moon by additional observations. If it is confirmed, the data are all submitted to the International Astronomical Union (IAU). The IAU is the governing body for astronomy. One of their jobs is to decide what is sufficiently proven and what is not, and then to assign names. If sufficiently confirmed, the IAU gives a preliminary name to the new moon. Scientists get time to consider the name. Finally, at one of their meetings, the scientific membership of the IAU votes on whether or not to accept the object and its name as an “official moon” of the planet. This process (from initial announcement to official acceptance) may take several years.

      Of the 23 new moons announced for Jupiter, preliminary names were assigned to 11 of them by the IAU in October 2002. This is an important step in the path taken to become an “official” moon. So these 11 (which are most probably asteroids that have been captured by Jupiter’s gravity) will most probably be accepted in the near future and take the official list of Jupiter’s moons from 16 to 27. How many more will follow this course is something to stay tuned for!

      By the way, the recently proposed new moon names are: Themisto, Iocaste, Harpalyke, Praxidike, Taygete, Chaldene, Kalyke, Callirrhoe, Megaclite, Isonoe, and Erinsome. These names are from characters in the life of Zeus or Jupiter in Greco-Roman mythology, thus following in the tradition of the other satellites of our largest planet.

      UPDATE! As of January 2009, Jupiter has 49 official, named moons and 14 more unofficial ones still under consideration..

      Answer Source: NASA Website

      Brong Answered on July 23, 2018.
      Add Comment

      Your Answer

      By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.